Viottolo Shiraz 2006

Stumbled across this today as I put the usual challenge to a local bottle’o attendant. I asked “Can you find me a bold SA wine that can cut through a smoked chicken white-bean stew?”. I told him my general likes/dislikes, and he first suggested this McLaren Vale Shiraz – the Viottolo.

A very nice wine for $26 – no, a very good wine for the price. Definitely spoilt ourselves for Monday night! It’s not an earthy, big Shiraz per se, but it’s got a great dark cherry background with that round SA Shiraz boldness I love.

Can’t find a website, but I hope they have a cellar door in McLaren Vale itself.

Groggy.

~ by Groggy on 06/04/2009.

Leave a Reply

 
